There are no results found.

SAOTA announced as winners of the 2019 Architectural Futsal League, co-sponsored by Corobrik

Reinforcing professional respect within the architectural industry through a mutual love of football, the eighth annual Architectural Futsal League enjoyed another fun-filled season with SAOTA taking the top honours after the final match on Friday, 31 May at Hellenic Club in Mouille Point. For the sixth year running, leading South African clay brick manufacturer, Corobrik, came on board as an event sponsor, alongside Hans Grohe and Duravit.
“This event provides regional architects and those in the construction industry with a fantastic opportunity to engage outside of the work space, which is really beneficial for long-term business relations,” explained Werner Oelofse, Corobrik Business Development Officer for the Western Cape. “Corobrik continues to show its support of the industry’s key role players through its ongoing support of the Architectural Futsal League in the form of sponsorship.”
The league was established by architect, Bruno Lopes, eight years ago. This year’s league welcomed 11 teams from the country’s leading architectural firms. They included SAOTA Architecture and Design, DHK, KMH Architecture and Interior Design, MLH Architects & Planners, Craft of Architecture, Steyn Le Roux Truter Architects, Wolff Architects, Jakupa Architects and Urban Designers, Jacobs Parker Architecture & Interior Design, Louis Karol Architects and SSH. Joining the league was a ‘12th sponsor team’ made up of players from the event sponsors.
The league began in February of this year, with 5-a-side games taking place every Friday afternoon. The semi-finals were held on 24 May with 3rd place going to Louis Karol after beating Jakupa 3-1. The hotly-contested final game between SAOTA and DHK on 31 May saw SAOTA clinch the win in the final two minutes of the game, finishing 5-4. The day also included a fun ‘last place contest’ to find out who the Wooden Spoon winners would be and this year the prize went to Jacobs Parker who got to donate R2 000 to a charity of their choice.
The final games were followed by a prizegiving ceremony and, in line with Corobrik’s sustainable principles, competitors in this year’s final round matches received metal water bottles, supplied by Tactile, to encourage a move away from single-use plastic.
The prizegiving, which was attended by more than 300 people enjoying the spitbraai, saw a number of prizes handed out to top-performing (and not-so-top-performing!) teams and competitors. The list of prize winners includes:
Winning Team: SAOTA
Runner-up: DHK
Top Goal Scorer (Female): Mel de Freitas (SAOTA)
Top Goal Scorer (Male): Ryan Lee Adams (DHK)
Wooden Spoon (last place finish): Jacobs Parker
“The event attracts, not only architects and industry members, but also friends and family as spectators, making this a really fun, social league,” said Oelofse. “While some of the matches do get very intense – as can be expected from such high-performing professionals - we are all friends at the end of the game, and this is really a fantastic way for architectural firms to socialise with other firms while building team spirit.”
SAOTA Architecture and Design won the eight annual Architectural Futsal League sponsored by leading South African clay brick manufacturer, Corobrik, alongside Hans Grohe and Duravit. The team beat out DHK 5-4 in a hard-fought final match on Friday, 31 May at the Hellenic Club in Mouille Point, completing another fun-filled social football season.