top of page

Meet the 8 finalists of the 36th Corobrik Student Architecture Awards

Highlighting talent, creativity, innovation and inspiration, the Corobrik Student Architecture Awards is all about jump-starting careers, building the industry and designing tomorrow. The finalists are selected from the eight major universities, based on the students’ Architectural Master’s theses, from the class of 2022.

LIVE Winner Announcement

16 May | 15:30-16:30

8 Student Architecture Awards Finalists 2023

Melicia van Loggerenberg | University of Pretoria

Melicia says she feels honoured to represent the University of Pretoria. “I would like to thank Corobrik for providing a platform to take our projects beyond our respective establishments.”

Student Architecture Awards Finalists 2023_Melicia van Loggerenberg

Mia Pulles | University of the Witwatersrand

“Architecture not only sculpturally defines the space we occupy on this beautiful planet, but it provides people with real, tactile opportunities to adapt, grow and live,” says Mia.

Student Architecture Awards Finalists 2023_Mia Pulles

Francois Luc Groenewald | Tshwane University of Technology

Having his research recognised by his peers, lecturers and Corobrik “is truly an honour, and having the opportunity to share it publicly is more than the heart of any designer can dream for,” says Francois.

Student Architecture Awards Finalists 2023_Francois Luc Groenewald

Katherine van Wyngaarden | University of Cape Town

“I am grateful to be part of this group with peers from across the country and to be given the chance to engage with their explorations,” says Katherine.

Student Architecture Awards Finalists 2023_Katherine van Wyngaarden

Kreolin Lyle Naicker | University of KwaZulu-Natal

Kreolin says being a regional winner is “a proud moment in my life and makes me proud of the work I produced. I would like to thank Corobrik for allowing students to showcase their architectural designs and recognising their hard work throughout the year.”

Student Architecture Awards Finalists 2023_Kreolin Lyle Naicker

Cindy Langa | University of Johannesburg

“I never imagined I would be in the running, let alone a finalist!” says Cindy. “I am happy about the platform Corobrik has provided to showcase my work.”

Student Architecture Awards Finalists 2023_Cindy Langa

Ané Meyer | University of the Free State

“It actually still does not feel real,” comments Ané on being a regional winner. “I am extremely excited for the journey ahead and look forward to meeting so many great upcoming architects.”

Student Architecture Awards Finalists 2023_Ane Mayer

Luzuko Funda | Nelson Mandela University

“I am honoured to be a finalist, as I strive to make architecture accessible to all. I feel like I am already an inspiration for the next generation.”

Student Architecture Awards Finalists 2023_Luzuko Funda

The finalists each receive a R10 000 prize and the opportunity to compete for the top title, plus a R70 000 grand prize, at the LIVE awards ceremony taking place on 16 May 2023. Keep following our social media pages and website for more updates.


bottom of page